[TRANS] [Exclusive Interview] 1 Eric Nam Per Household “I am just who I am.”

Please do not re-post translations without crediting to “Doses of Eric Nam”.

Translations may contain inaccuracies. We seek your kind cooperation to link this translated article if you intend to share our translations. 


Source: http://m.playdb.co.kr/MobileMagazine/ListicleDetail?magazineno=3133&subcategory=067003&NM=Y&Type=L

Date: 1 February 2019

01_145226

Exclusive Interview with Eric Nam prior to his upcoming concert at Blue Square on 16 February 2019

From preparing meals for hungry hyungs (Wizard of Ozi), telling off a friend who enjoys calling him Oppa “Let’s stop with your obsession with calling me Oppa“, answering “Just because I wanted to give it to you” when Solar asked “Why?” as she received a flower from her virtual husband (We Got Married) to letting many Hollywood stars get comfortable and letting their guards down through his conversations. This is how the term ” 1 Eric Nam Per Household” came about through people’s impression of him.

Eric Nam specially met with the playdb team in the midst of his preparation for his 16 February concert that is happening at Blue Square, iMarket Hall.   The editor spotted a man , well loved by everyone and could have undergone suspicion if his image is real,  and it was none other than the hottest passionate musician with gentle vocals and ability to compose songs named Eric Nam. What’s more surprising is the fact that “1 Eric Nam Per Household” is real and not a pretense.

01_145242

Q. How do you feel about the title “1 Eric Nam Per Household” ? 

(Eric) Firstly, I am thankful yet feel the burden of the title at the same time. Do I even deserve to receive such compliment even though I have been showing who I usually am? I slightly feel the burden in that aspect. I am just not pretentious since there are many times when I make mistakes in my speech, I don’t smile and am in a daze.

(Playdb) You’re very humble. 

(Eric) I have to be humble in order to feel comfortable. I’m not sure. Since I am a celebrity, I don’t have any particular desire to restrict myself to how I must be like. Celebrities (no, just humans) are just the same. Everyone would want to be happy doing what they want to do. As such, I am feel good and am thankful to hear such words.

Q. What do you do when you are tired? Are there moments when you get angry? 
I will leave on my own when I am tired. I have to meet many people due to the nature of my job so there are many things that need my devotion.   I would spend time alone and go on a solo trip when I am exhausted from time to time. Only during me-time, I will have thoughts such as “Am I happy? How can I live my life to be happy?”. I watch movies and listen to music. I might be a workaholic and am constantly engaged in many other activities so I relieve my stress through music. I relieve my emotions experienced during work through music. Music heals me.

I get very angry when I see injustice and malicious actions being done on purpose. However, I get angry on my own but never lost my anger at anyone before.

(Playdb) We heard that once you see through things once you have fixed eyes on it. 
Rather than saying that I see through things when I fix my eyes on one thing, I am quick to end my interest in things that I can’t do even after trying since there are many people who are better than me (at doing what I tried) out there. Rather than to hang onto something that I can’t do, it’s better and comfortable to focus on something that I am good at. It applies to both cooking and language.

01_151601

What he wants is not only sweet ballad songs!  

You would notice that Eric Nam has deviated from his initial music style of ballad music to exploring pop, music with strong beats, deep R&B and so on in his recent music journey.

Good for you (앨범 INTERVIEW 2016. 3)  

This album means alot to me since this album is the first album where I first promoted with a self-composed song. This album was released after 1.5 years of hiatus where I was able to promote actively as a musician. It healed me as I worked on the songs. My passion and ambition in music composition doesn’t stop. I always want to trying new genres of music and try new things… I have a strong personality in that sense.

Frankly speaking, I personally don’t enjoy ballads that much. Many tend to associate ballad and mid-tempo music when they think about Eric Nam. I usually enjoy listening to music with strong lively beats that I am able to perform and I want to create (such kind of music) too.   Hence, it’s a dilemma for me. The masses want ballad songs but I feel the happiness when I perform upbeat songs.

01_152039
Source: Eric Nam’s ‘Cave Me in’ Music Video Capture

Cave me in (Gallant x Tablo x Eric Nam 2017. 1)

I was in a dilemma since I have never tried such deep R&B kind of music and am not sure if I was able to pull off the song. Gallant was a Grammy nominee and Tablo is an older brother who I really like and enjoys his songs. I thought “Was it alright for me to be part of this?”. Even though I have been stressing myself a lot, I am very happy that the outcome was good and many loved the song.

01_151922
Source: Eric Nam ‘Honestly’ MV Capture

Honestly (Mini Album HONESTLY 2018. 4) 

This album was released after 2 years. I didn’t release this album as much as I wanted to in that 2 years. Everyone had varying responses to this album. It felt like it was on purpose. I wanted to create a different image from what it used to be. I wanted to show other emotions aside from the usual sweet and lively sides I have been showing.  It felt like many people were thinking “We want the sweet and kind Eric Nam. That is who Eric is.” I felt that “Many people won’t respond well to my new attempt (in music & image).” So, I took a step back. Initially, I was stressed but I can’t do anything about how people think of me. I needed to not be so concerned about how others view me and take on the courage to try and create the type of music that I always wanted to produce.

01_150413

Q. What plans do you have for your next album? 
I will probably be releasing my next album this April. Since I love pop, I have filled my album with pop songs… The recent ‘Honestly’ album had too much pop, so it felt like I wasn’t able to deliver the emotions that I intended it to be. Nevertheless, I could hopefully achieve a harmonious balance through livelier music through this upcoming album in comparison to the previous one.

Q. Do you have any musicians you would like work with on a future collaboration? 
There are many. Many song collaborations which I have been preparing overseas will be released this year. I will work with famous overseas musicians in Korea but currently have yet to work with musicians in Korea. There are many musicians I like.  I am always open to collaborations and would love to fulfill all the requests to the best of my abilities.  There are still many people who first remembers Eric Nam in variety shows rather than Eric Nam as a musician. Hence, there are honestly not many people who would want to work (on a collaboration) with me. I am extremely thankful to those who listen to all my music and engage in conversations with me. From the first time when I met Tablo, I was very touched and thankful when he said “You sing really well. I like the tone of your voice. You should continue making more music to show the world who you are.” I couldn’t help it when more people don’t know what I have to show as I end up being more active conducting interviews and appearing on variety shows. This is a concern and homework which I have to continue to work on.

Q.  What do you have in store for your upcoming concert? 
When I’m overseas, I have been receiving many proposals and requests to collaborate. However, I am concerned where I feel restricted in terms of music in Korea.  The concert culture in Korea is very different from that overseas. I won’t be only singing for 2 hours. I will also have to take into consideration of videos, stage performance, dance to girl group dances, inviting guest (SMILES). I don’t have the courage to cope on my own. I used to worry about how I can perform for 2 hours in the past. This time, I want to show what I have meticulously prepared.

We will be able to see an array of performances and music at this concert. Based on the term “Color”, Eric Nam has specially arranged for the most beautiful stage setup for this concert.  With the thought of people leaving comments such as “This is pretty, where is this?”, Eric Nam involved in the decision making process starting from stage design, song arrangements and choices and even inviting guests for this concert.

Text: Reporter Kim Seon Kyeong 김선경 (Magazine Playdb uncanny@interpark.com)
Photos: Ki Jun Seo (Studio Choon)  기준서(Studio Choon)

One thought on “[TRANS] [Exclusive Interview] 1 Eric Nam Per Household “I am just who I am.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started